Apple takes its sweet time adopting new trends or technologies, but when it does, it delivers one of the best implementations ever. That’s exactly what everyone is expecting from the company’s first foldable. Apple confirmed the device’s name as the iPhone Duo at its September 9 event, settling months of speculation over “iPhone Fold” and “iPhone Ultra.”
Apple confirmed its September 9, 2026 event date, with the tagline “Surprise and shine,” and sent invitations on August 26. The “surprise” turned out to be the foldable iPhone. The event marked John Ternus’s first major product launch as Apple CEO following Tim Cook’s transition on September 1, 2026, genuinely one of the most consequential Apple keynotes in years, for two separate reasons.

iPhone Fold / Ultra: At a glance
| Name | iPhone Duo |
| Release date | Pre-orders open Friday, October 16, 2026; available Friday, October 23, 2026. |
| Starting price | Starts at $1,999 (256GB). Storage options: 256GB, 512GB, 1TB, and 2TB. |
| Colors | Night Sky and Star White |
| Outer display | 5.4-inch Super Retina XDR OLED with Dynamic Island, 120Hz ProMotion, and Always-On display; protected by Ceramic Shield 2. |
| Inner display | 7.6-inch Super Retina XDR OLED folding display (1878 × 2670 resolution at 430 ppi) with 120Hz ProMotion and a nano-texture finish. |
| Dimensions and weight | Unfolded: 117.8 × 164.6 × 5.2 mm Folded: 117.8 × 84.1 × 11.3 mm Weight: 254g |
| Frame and build | Grade 5 titanium with a mirror-polished finish, a 3D-printed, micro-blasted hinge cover, Ceramic Shield 2 front, Ceramic Shield back, and an IP68 rating (up to 6m for up to 30 minutes). |
| Stylus support | Support is confirmed but not available at launch; Apple says it’s “coming later this year.” |
| Biometrics | Touch ID fingerprint sensor integrated into the side button. |
| Rear cameras | 48MP Fusion Main (26mm, ƒ/1.6, sensor-shift OIS, 12MP optical-quality 2x lossless) 48MP Fusion Ultra Wide (13mm, ƒ/2.2, 120° FOV, macro photography) |
| Front cameras | 12MP Center Stage camera on outer display (ƒ/2.2) Under-display FaceTime camera on inner display (ƒ/1.8) |
| Chipset | A20 Pro (6-core CPU, 7-core GPU with Neural Accelerators, dual 16-core Neural Engine) with a custom-designed vapor chamber thermal-management system. |
| Battery life | Dual-battery architecture delivering up to 44 hours of video playback on the outer display and 31 hours on the inner display. |
| MagSafe | MagSafe wireless charging up to 25W, with an integrated magnet array and alignment magnet. |
iPhone Fold / Ultra: Latest News
- September 18, 2026: Apple used a matte screen on the iPhone Duo to reduce reflections and hide display creasing, at the cost of some contrast and crispness.
- September 13, 2026: The iPhone Duo supports MagSafe, but its wider foldable shape prevents many older magnetic power banks, wallets, and stands from fitting.
- September 9, 2026: Apple officially unveils the iPhone Duo at its “Surprise and shine” event, confirming the name, full specs, and pricing rumored for months.
- September 9, 2026: Bloomberg’s Mark Gurman reports that Apple’s first foldable could be called the “iPhone Duo.” The handset could start at ~$2,000 for the baseline variant with 256GB of storage.
- August 26, 2026: Apple confirms its September 9 event.
- August 24, 2026: Luxury customizer Caviar unveils several custom “iPhone Ultra” editions, priced from $13,840 to $18,840, months before Apple’s own official reveal.
- July 11, 2026: A leaked regulatory filing suggests the iPhone Ultra uses a dual-cell battery (1,921mAh + 2,962mAh) totaling ~4,883mAh.
- July 6, 2026: Apple reportedly raises its foldable production target to around 10 million units for the year, per Nikkei Asia; IDC pegs the average selling price at $2,500.
- June 16, 2026: Bloomberg’s Mark Gurman reports Apple is already developing a second-generation foldable, codenamed V78, for a 2027 release alongside the 20th-anniversary iPhone.
- May 26, 2026: A report by Letem světem Applem (via PhoneArena) shows the purported iPhone Ultra inside a protective case, revealing almost everything about the phone’s design.
- May 26, 2026: A claim from Instant Digital (via Weibo) suggests that Apple is facing problems in improving manufacturing yields during the pre-assembly process. The issue is related to Surface Mount Technology (SMT).
- May 19, 2026: Chinese tipster Digital Chat Station (via Weibo) shares that Apple could adopt a similar crease-free solution as the Oppo Find N6.
- May 16, 2026: Chinese tipster Instant Digital (via Weibo) claims that Apple has achieved a visually crease-free foldable display with “long-term stability.” The core problem, however, is improving the hinge reliability.
- May 11, 2026: A report from MacRumors states that the first foldable iPhone could arrive in just two colors at launch.
- May 6, 2026: A Weibo post from the tipster Instant Digital claims that Apple’s first foldable could be easier to open and repair compared to other foldables on the market.
- April 27, 2026: Apple has reportedly locked in the ‘iPhone Ultra’ name for its first-ever folding iPhone, alongside a MacBook Ultra, which could be the first-of-its-kind touchscreen OLED MacBook.
- April 26, 2026: Renders shared by a Korean tipster yeux1122 (via Naver) suggest that the iPhone Fold could have a folded body thickness of 9.23mm, slimmer than what initial rumors suggested (roughly 9.6mm).
- April 21, 2026: Chinese tipster Instant Digital (via Weibo) claims that the iPhone Fold could come with the Camera Control button.
- April 7, 2026: After rumors about Apple hitting a development snag with the foldable, Bloomberg’s Mark Gurman pushed back by reinstating the September launch window.
- March 21, 2026: A fresh rumor suggested that the iPhone Fold might not start shipping until December 2026, three months after its initial showcase at the September 2026 launch event.
- March 16, 2026: Given that the device will run on iOS, and not iPadOS, it might miss out on some of the most popular apps or the advanced multitasking features built for iPads.
When will Apple release the iPhone Fold?
Apple has spent years watching from the sidelines as Samsung, Google, and a couple of other Chinese companies reveal their foldables, and it wouldn’t risk revealing its first foldable through a separate event, one that might not have as much awareness or gather as much attention as its iconic fall event. The company unveiled the iPhone Duo at its September 9 “Surprise and shine” event, alongside the iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max, exactly as expected.

The remaining dates on the calendar: pre-orders open Friday, October 16, at 5 a.m. PT, with the phone arriving Friday, October 23, in the U.S. and more than 70 countries and regions, including Australia, Canada, China, Singapore, and the U.K. A further 28 countries and regions get it on Friday, October 30.
| Date | Milestone / Event |
| September 9, 2026 | Official announcement at the Apple “Surprise and Shine” event alongside the iPhone 18 Pro, Pro Max, and iPhone Duo. |
| October 23, 2026 | Scheduled release and shipping date for the foldable iPhone Duo. |
| Spring 2027 | Expected arrival window for the base standard iPhone 18 model. |
I think the roughly six-week gap between announcement and availability makes sense, and for one good reason. It gives customers and Apple stores a chance to catch their breath after the iPhone 18 Pro’s own rollout, and, at the same time, builds more anticipation for the foldable. It also gives people time to decide whether to spend a fortune on an iPhone that folds in half or settle for the Pro or Pro Max.

How much will the iPhone Fold cost?
Apple confirmed the iPhone Duo starts at $1,999 for 256GB, settling the year of back-and-forth between analysts who predicted anywhere from under $2,000 to as high as $2,500 average selling price. The final pricing landed almost exactly at the “$1,999 sweet spot” some analysts had floated as the psychologically important ceiling.
| Storage | Price |
| 256GB | $1,999 |
| 512GB | $2,199 |
| 1TB | $2,599 |
| 2TB | $3,199 |
Samsung’s Galaxy Z Fold 8 Ultra, which officially launched a month earlier on August 7, 2026, at $2,099.99, gives the iPhone Duo real competitive context. At $1,999, Apple actually undercuts Samsung’s flagship foldable by $100, a genuinely surprising outcome given most pre-launch estimates expected Apple to charge more, not less.
Design
Apple’s first foldable iPhone follows a book-style foldable, similar to the Galaxy Z Fold 7 or the Pixel 10 Pro Fold. However, unlike them, the iPhone doesn’t go after a tall-and-narrow design. Instead, it sports a wider form factor that looks like an iPad mini when unfolded.

The dummy models Sonny Dickson shared on X in April 2026 proved accurate. Both the cover and inner screens are noticeably wider than existing book-style foldables; Apple is clearly charting its own course.
The frame uses Grade 5 titanium with a mirror-polished finish. The crease, Apple’s biggest design challenge, is, by most early hands-on accounts, nearly invisible, thanks to the three-part system that I’ve discussed in my iPhone Duo vs. Galaxy Z Fold 8 comparison. Two more snippets worth noting from the comparison. The iPhone is substantially heavier than the Fold 8. Second, it carries an official IP68 rating (up to 6 meters for 30 minutes), compared with the Fold 8’s inferior IP48 rating.

When it comes to colors, Apple settled with two options at launch: Star White and Night Sky (dark navy blue). The iPhone Duo supports MagSafe and Qi2 wireless charging at up to 25W, identical to the iPhone 18 Pro lineup, with the necessary magnet array and alignment magnet built directly into the folding chassis.
Touch ID, integrated into the side button, replaces Face ID entirely on the iPhone Duo.
| Apple iPhone Duo | Samsung Galaxy Z Fold 8 | |
| Dimensions (Closed) | 117.8 × 84.1 × 11.3 mm | 123.9 × 81.9 × 9.7 mm |
| Dimensions (Unfolded) | 117.8 × 164.6 × 5.2 mm | 161.4 × 123.9 × 4.5 mm |
| Weight | 254 g | 201 g |
| Build Materials | Titanium frame and hinge cover; Ceramic Shield 2 front and back | Advanced Armor Aluminum frame/hinge; Corning Gorilla Glass Ceramic 3 (front/cover) & Gorilla Glass Victus 2 (back) |
| Finish | Nano-texture finish (folding inner display); premium matte-textured glass back | Anti-glare low-reflection coating on outer/inner displays; smooth matte back finish |
| IP Rating | IP68 (up to 6 meters for 30 minutes) | IP48 (water-resistant, limited dust/particle protection) |
| Color Options | Night Sky, Star White | Lavender, Cream, Graphite, Pistachio (online-exclusive) |
Display
Rumors about the iPhone Duo’s screens painted the right picture, though the earlier-mentioned prediction from Ming-Chi Kuo on the dimensions wasn’t accurate to the decimal.
Apple’s iPhone Duo flaunts a 5.4-inch cover screen and a 7.6-inch inner screen. Both feature a Super Retina XDR display, support ProMotion technology (adaptive refresh rates between 1 and 120Hz), and can reach a peak brightness of 3,000 nits (outdoors).

The displays also have some unique characteristics. For instance, the cover screen has a higher pixel density (460 ppi vs. 430 ppi). However, the inner foldable screen has a nano-texture finish that cuts glare and reflections, which is quite effective at hiding the central crease. Apple also says that the inner screen uses wide-angle OLEDs (a term we’ve also heard with the Apple Watch before).
The cover screen carries a punch-hole cutout at the top right. It houses the front-facing camera and also doubles as the Dynamic Island (with vertical animations instead of horizontal). Unless the boxy corners on the left side and the round ones on the right bother you, it’s a pretty good display to look at.

While the bezels are slim on the cover screen, they’re a bit wider on the inner screen. Under normal circumstances, you’d think the inner screen doesn’t have a camera, but Apple has hidden it under the screen. It’s situated roughly below the second volume button from the right. The inner screen also has a matte-texture coating, which helps keep crease reflections at bay and hides the crease better than a glossy finish would.
| iPhone Duo | Galaxy Z Fold 8 | |
| Inner display | 7.6″ Super Retina XDR OLED, 1878×2670, 430 ppi, nano-texture finish | 7.6″ LTPO AMOLED, 1848×2448, 4:3 aspect, anti-reflective coating |
| Outer display | 5.4″ Super Retina XDR OLED with Dynamic Island and Always-On | 5.5″ LTPO AMOLED, 1248×1972, 10:16 aspect (passport-style) |
| Refresh rate | 120Hz ProMotion, both screens | 120Hz adaptive (1-120Hz), both screens |
| Peak brightness | Not disclosed by Apple | Up to 3,000 nits, both screens |
| Protection | Ceramic Shield 2 outer, custom polymer stack inner | Gorilla Glass Victus Ceramic 3 outer |
Performance
The iPhone Duo runs on Apple’s A20 Pro (2nm) chip, which is the same chip used in the iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max. It’s not a binned version, as some had speculated. Breaking down the chip: it pairs a 6-core CPU (with two super cores at 4.93 GHz) with a 7-core GPU (with Neural Accelerators) and a dual 16-core Neural Engine, which boosts on-device AI compute for all those heavy Apple Intelligence features.

Apple has also designed a custom vapor chamber for the folding iPhone, though we don’t yet know how effective it is. Anyway, the CPU has 12GB of RAM (via GSMArena). Since the company never publishes the RAM amount, we’ve to rely on third-party sources for the figure. What we do know, however, is that the memory has 50% higher bandwidth than the A19 Pro in the iPhone 17 Pro.
In theory, the improvement should result in faster data processing, lag-free multi-display windowing, and even quicker on-device AI processing. In fact, the iPhone Duo should be able to run AAA video games at their highest settings as well. Storage spans across four tiers: 256GB, 512GB, 1TB, and a new 2TB option.

On the connectivity front, we get Apple’s second-generation C2 modem (same as the iPhone 18 Pro), the successor to the C1X modem on the iPhone 17e. It brings mmWave 5G support to the foldable. And yes, the rumors that the device would be eSIM-only worldwide were correct. It won’t ship with a physical SIM tray in any market.
If you want an idea of how capable the A20 Pro chip really is, its single-core GeekBench 7 score beats Apple’s M5 Max in the MacBook Pro. For a chip that’s inside a device that fits in a palm, that’s quite an achievement. However, don’t expect sustained performance to match the MacBook Pro with an active cooling fan.

| iPhone Duo | Galaxy Z Fold 8 | |
| Chipset | Apple A20 Pro, TSMC 2nm, vapor chamber cooling | Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy |
| RAM | Not disclosed, understood to be at least 12GB | 12GB (256GB/512GB) or 16GB (1TB) |
| Storage | 256GB / 512GB / 1TB / 2TB | 256GB / 512GB / 1TB |
| Build | Grade 5 titanium frame | Armor Aluminum frame, no titanium |
Software
Out of the box, the iPhone Fold runs on iOS 27. However, thanks to its unique form factor, Apple has added some device-specific software features. For instance, the phone supports split view multitasking, which, believe it or not, is the first for an iPhone ever. Basically, iOS 27 on iPhone Duo lets you run two apps side by side, along with support for actions like drag-and-drop.
To maximize the additional usable screen area on the wider aspect ratio, Apple shifted the lock screen controls, the Home Screen dock, and the main navigation menus to the right of the inner screen (with a left-handed toggle available in settings).

As I mentioned earlier, Apple has also reimagined the Dynamic Island to run vertically along the outer edge of the screen.
Apple compensates for being late to the segment by adding clever UI animations. The transition from the cover screen to the inner screen has already earned the iPhone Duo a lot of praise. The operating system also reacts natively to the physical fold angle. When the phone is partially folded, the app content shifts away from the center crease. Finally, StandBy mode doesn’t require the phone to be plugged in.

With top-tier Apple silicon, it supports all Siri AI features powered by Gemini integration (including advanced Siri voices), camera Visual Intelligence, Liquid Glass refinements, and natural language shortcuts. Moreover, the iPhone Duo gets the most complete version of iOS 27. Personal note: I really wish Apple would add split-screen functionality to regular iPhones over time.
| iPhone Duo | Galaxy Z Fold 8 | |
| OS | iOS 27 | Android 17 with One UI |
| Multitasking | Split View, hands-free FaceTime, StandBy without charging | Multi Window side-by-side, Samsung DeX desktop mode |
| Stylus | Apple Pencil (USB-C) confirmed, not available at launch | Not supported on this model |
Cameras
On paper, the iPhone Duo’s camera systems don’t look as good as the iPhone 18 Pro, or the iPhone 17 Pro for that matter, and for a device that might cost twice as much, that isn’t a trade-off worth ignoring.

The Duo ships with two 48MP sensors on the back: a 48MP Fusion Main (26mm, ƒ/1.6, sensor-shift OIS) and a 48MP Fusion Ultra Wide (13mm, ƒ/2.2, 120° field of view, with macro photography). There is no dedicated telephoto lens. The longest reach available comes from a 12MP optical-quality 2x crop of the Main sensor, well short of the iPhone 18 Pro’s telephoto system.
On the front, the Duo actually has two separate cameras, and Apple has confirmed both, an important correction to earlier reporting that assumed only a conventional front camera would ship. The outer display carries a 12MP Center Stage camera (ƒ/2.2) that can capture 4K Dolby Vision video at up to 60fps.

The inner display hides a second camera beneath the screen itself, Apple’s first under-display camera on any iPhone, rated at ƒ/1.8 but capped at 1080p video. Apple has not disclosed this inner camera’s resolution.
Enough about the hardware, let’s talk about the new software additions. Two new features work in tandem: Duo Preview, which lets you see a live preview on the outer screen, and Smart Take, which automatically captures a photo when the subject is about ready. Another unique feature is Kid Cue, which shows animation on the outer screen to grab a kid’s attention.

The iPhone Duo also gets features like dual capture (also available on older iPhones), 4K Dolby Vision recording at 120 fps, macro photography, and smart focus tracking (a first for the iPhone).
| iPhone Duo | Galaxy Z Fold 8 | |
| Main rear | 48MP Fusion Main, ƒ/1.6, sensor-shift OIS | 50MP Wide, ƒ/1.8, OIS, 2x in-sensor zoom |
| Ultrawide | 48MP Fusion Ultra Wide, ƒ/2.2, 120° FOV, macro | 50MP Ultrawide, ƒ/1.9, 120° FOV |
| Telephoto | None; 12MP 2x crop from Main sensor | None; digital zoom only past 2x |
| Outer selfie | 12MP Center Stage, ƒ/2.2, 4K Dolby Vision, 60fps | 10MP, ƒ/2.2 |
| Inner selfie | Under-display camera, ƒ/1.8, 1080p only, resolution undisclosed | 10MP punch-hole, ƒ/2.2 |
Battery
Here’s something that I haven’t seen from Apple: a 24-hour typical use rating. Otherwise, the iPhone Duo is rated for up to 44 hours of video playback from the outer screen (down to 37 hours when streamed) and up to 31 hours from the inner screen (down to 26 hours when streamed).

Apple also confirms a dual-battery design for the foldable, which is quite common on foldables. The capacity, however, isn’t official yet. Like the iPhone 18 Pro, the iPhone Duo also supports 60W wired charging. With a compatible adapter, you can charge up the device to 50% in around 20 minutes. Meanwhile, MagSafe charging takes around 30 minutes to reach the same level (with a 35W adapter).
If you’re looking for an adapter for your iPhone Duo, check out this roundup of the best iPhone 18 Pro charging accessories.

| iPhone Duo | Galaxy Z Fold 8 | |
| Capacity | Not disclosed; dual Li-ion cells managed as one | 4,800mAh silicon-carbon cell |
| Video playback | 44 hrs outer / 31 hrs inner | Up to 26 hrs, mixed-display use (Samsung claim) |
| Wired charging | Up to 60W, 50% in about 20 min | 45W, 63% in 30 min |
| Wireless charging | MagSafe / Qi2 up to 25W | Qi2.2 up to 20W |
| Reverse wireless | Not specified | 4.5W |
Bottom line
The iPhone Duo is one of the most consequential product launches in Apple’s history, and one of the most expensive. At $1,999 to start, though, it actually undercuts Samsung’s Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra rather than costing more, which is the opposite of what most analysts expected.
I think Apple delivered on its core promises here: a close-to-invisible crease, genuine MagSafe support, and a design built around two full-sized displays rather than one compromised one. The trade-offs are real (no telephoto lens, no Face ID, a modest inner-display camera), but at a price that undercuts the market leader, this is a far more competitive product than the rumor cycle led me to expect.